EMDR- Eternal Mumshine of the Dotless Rind

That isn’t what EMDR stands for at all. But I think it sounds better what it actually means.

And it is all a bit eternal sunshine of the spotless mind- but in my case I’m a mum who often tries to be perfect then beats myself up for perceived failures when they ain’t that at all so I reckon eternal mumshine of the dotless rind works as it conveys an image of the perfect stepford wife making a lemon drizzle cake (my fave) with a perfect non mouldly load of lemons.  (whereas in reality I would most likely be hot, sticky, swearing and realise halfway through mixing that either I didn’t have any lemons or that they were in fact mouldy!)

At the minute we haven’t started the process properly just working on making the visualisation and trigger word to be as strong as possible so that they have power to relax and take me away from traumatic memories.  In the next few weeks we are going to begin to work on the most traumatic memories- I am a bit scared about this as I know that it is going to be really hard and horrible but I really need to go through this process to stop the power the memories have over me. Yes I will never forget them or what happened but aim is that they stop having such an effect on me in the here and now.

Plan on updating this post as we proceed through EMDR.

#Update 1#

I may not be a candidate for EMDR after all! I just didn’t get upset enough! See here for reason why!

About LadyCurd

Likes ladybirds & lemon curd. On reflection combining the two names was a mistake.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to EMDR- Eternal Mumshine of the Dotless Rind

  1. Dee says:

    Hi, just wanted to say how interesting I’m finding your blog. I’m a student mental health nurse currently placed with perinatal CPNs. Hope things continue to go well for you x

  2. Ooh I haven’t seen your blog before but am visiting after you tweeted me. Looking forward to reading more as this post has intrigued me. Hoping your okay though, *hugs from one trauma sufferer to another* xX

  3. Pingback: World Mental Health Day | childbirthptsdandme

Leave a Reply

