CBT appointment 2

Just back. It was really really positive. Seriously I was sceptical but I can already track progress I have made. I told my therapist (which sounds  such a poncy thing to say but he isn’t a counsellor and not sure what else to call him!) about my blog and we discussed cost benefits of keeping it (you will understand why when you read this) but overall I think being able to track my progress as I get better is a really positive thing.

Some really interesting things came out about the ELCS:VB decision some of which is quite personal so I may write a personal private post on that for me, is area that needs lot more cogitation.

Next week we have agreed to start the EMDR process for the most traumatic memories as we decided it was going to be the best course of action for me.  Also going to decide on “safe place” imagery to help (which may also help in a VB) which sounds a bit airy fairy but I am defo into the idea as my lovely little meadow on a warm dusky evening with the birds chirruping and the brook at the bottom tinkling by is a really lovely place to be!

Seriously I am possibly going to go a bit evangelical about CBT but if you are struggling with anything- go do some. It’s fab!

Right off to write the main post for today which was the outcome of the discussion today- When talking is a hindrance not a help

About LadyCurd

Likes ladybirds & lemon curd. On reflection combining the two names was a mistake.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CBT appointment 2

  1. Pingback: When talking is a hindrance and not a help. | childbirthptsdandme

  2. “Also going to decide on “safe place” imagery to help (which may also help in a VB) which sounds a bit airy fairy but I am defo into the idea as my lovely little meadow on a warm dusky evening with the birds chirruping and the brook at the bottom tinkling by is a really lovely place to be!”

    If you do decide on VB have you thought about exploring Marie Mongans Hypnobirthing, it uses imagery as well.

  3. I have the other one- the Maggie Howell’s natal hypnotherapy one- just need to be more disciplined and make time to focus on it! I do think it is could and could work for me.

  4. I don’t know that one, to be honest I found the hypno part crap but the how to breath and imagery was VERY good.

Leave a Reply

